Gateway to Romance: Maddie Jane

The Escapades

by Maddie Jane

No single book led me into romance. I was an early enthusiast of the genre, diving in as a child, rejoicing when Gilbert Blythe finally won Anne Shirley, and happy enough when Jo March found Professor Bhaer (even if I wished she’d chosen the younger, richer Laurie instead). Author Barbara Willard wrote beautifully romantic historical fiction—I read The Lark and the Laurel over and over and spent weeks waiting my turn for library copies of the other books in the series. Five years ago, I finally tracked down a copy for my daughter, only she wouldn’t read it because the cover was boring!

Lark LaurelI discovered Mills and Boons as a twelve-year-old and a school friend with five older, romance-mad sisters kept me constantly supplied. The little pink books were most conveniently the same size as the pockets on my school uniform. I’d walk to school and back…

View original post 415 more words

Leave a Reply

