Gateway to Romance: Susanne Bellamy

The Escapades

by Susanne Bellamy

As a very young teenager with three older sisters, two of whom read romance, I discovered Violet Winspear. Palace of the Pomegranate and Tawny Sands (Mills & Boon) were two of the earliest I recall reading, and I loved the exotic settings and the thrill of danger in the desert.

My family had sailed through the Suez Canal when I was seven years old, during one of the regional conflicts rife in that part of the world, and I had seen the desert sands and experienced the heat so perhaps I had a child’s understanding of another country, but I loved those desert stories.

Then there was Love in a Stranger’s Arms and the conflict of a woman suffering amnesia who couldn’t recall her Spanish husband. Internal and external conflicts abounded and I decided one day, I would visit Spain (fingers crossed for next year!) Violet Winspear…

View original post 143 more words

Leave a Reply

