My book setting: My Alaska

The Escapades

by MA Grant

My husband and I moved to the Kenai Peninsula of Alaska in 2012. In case you’re not familiar with the state, the Kenai Peninsula is known for its salmon rivers, its coastal brown bears, and being one of the most beautiful and accessible parts of the state. We’re on the road system, still get sunlight in the winter, and after living here for four years, I have a hard time imagining myself anywhere else.

Skilak Lake Skilak Lake

In the part of the Peninsula where I live, our forests are a thick medley of spruce, aspen, birch, and willow. The underbrush varies drastically from area to area, elevation to elevation. At our house, it’s a combination of horsetail, wild roses, fireweed (oh, how I love this flower), moss, ferns, and other assorted greens. If you step off a trail or road and duck ten feet back into the woods…

View original post 305 more words

Leave a Reply

