Giving Thanks – and food!

The Escapades

by Kate Cuthbert

Today is Canadian Thanksgiving, which was one of my favourite holidays when I lived in Canada. Unlike our neighbours to the south, our thanksgiving holiday is a harvest festival, a day, according to the official proclamation, of “General Thanksgiving to Almighty God for the bountiful harvest with which Canada has been blessed.”

So, in short, our holiday is mostly about food.

Delicious, delicious, full roast turkey with stuffing and cranberry sauce and potatoes and vegetables and gravy food.

However, the cream of the crop, the queen of the table, the piece de resistance is, of course, the pumpkin pie.

Here's one I prepared earlier Here’s one I prepared earlier

One of my authors asked if I would share our secret family recipe for Pumpkin Pie, and in the spirit of thankfulness and generosity and recognising the many, many blessings in my life, I’m delighted to post it below.

Go forth and pie…

View original post 189 more words

Leave a Reply

